Dressed to Kill

I don’t know exactly why, but I found myself immediately fascinated by the concept of taking a Jager identity in Second Life.  Criminal Magic started life as a Neko who occasionally prowled the streets of City of Lost Angels, but I found that I did not have the time to continue a storyline in a role-playing sim.  I was not in Second Life enough to establish my character and find a place in the Neko clan, so I eventually stopped using this avatar altogether.

And then, as I said, I found Jagers living in Second Life.  The Steampunk sims are more open-ended than the combat sims, so I found dropping in occasionally to be less disruptive.  So I decided to make myself Jager.

In my last post, I introduced my hat and my backstory.  This time, I am going to spend some time out of character to talk about how I came up with the Jager look.  There are many different Jagers in SL, but there are a great variety of them in Girl Genius, too.  It’s part of our charm.

The Jager look is always stylish, and has some military or warrior connection.  Most of the Jagers in GG wear a regular uniform, presumably from the army they served in when the Heterodynes offered them the Jagerbrew.  Some are dressed as irregulars, hunters, or other fighting types.  Almost all have hats.

I started with things that I already had in my inventory.  I used the same shape that I have used as a Neko (and for almost all of my costumes, which will appear in later posts).  The skin came with the shape.  It had mod/copy permissions, so I changed the tint to a blue.  Jager skin tones are widely varied, but usually are light colors.  In my next post, I intend to cover how to make simple adjustments to skin and clothing to refine an outfit.  The eyes are also my usual pair.

The first piece of clothing that I used to build the Jager outfit from was the hat.  Hats are the core of Jager fashion, and are important to them on a very personal level.  So I used this hat to create my story and my apperance.  The skulls had a grim aspect, but they are so tiny and cute.  As a tiny asked me about them shortly after Saint Patrick’s Day, I flippantly repied that they were not tinies, but “little people” (I may have mentioned stew at that point as well).  But that served as the basis for the Leaprecan Smoke Knights in my backstory.

The truth is, I bought my hat.  When I first found it, it was a $1L limited-time promotional offer in Xstreet SL.  It is still affordable at its regular price of $100L from Voodoo Apocylipse.

The owner recently closed the main store, but will be back with a new one.  For now, the hats are available at a vendor in Jabberwocky.   There are a large number of very well made hats.  I wish I still had pictures of the old store, as the atmosphere was perfect, but I lost the original verson of this post in a hard drive failure.

The hair I chose was intended to give a wild look…it juts out through the hat in an explosion of unkempt abandon.  It came as part of an outfit from another Xstreet SL merchant  called Chemical Kisses.  The image below has a different ribbon color, but is part of a $1L outfit.

Having my hat and hair in order, I needed a good uniform to match.  Not finding anything in my inventory, I headed over to one of my favorite spots: Bare Rose.

It didn’t take long to find a promising outfit.

For $170L I got a nice uniform complete with boots and a jacket in four colors.  Bare Rose outfits are sold with no copy/transfer permissions, so some can be shared with several different avatars.  This one uses the same cuffs and epaulets for all of the colors, so they don’t work well alone.  In another post I will show some that do work well for sharing.  My only problem is that it was a bit…immodest for a Jager.

So I had to go shopping again.  This time, I found a perfect set of trousers at the freebies cart in Caledon.

The pants with the Curlean Sky box added the perfect fit to the uniform I was working on.  For those who visit, I would like to point out that the “Gentleman in a Box” next to it appears to be defective, or else someone ate the gentleman in mine, as all I got was any empty suit of clothes.

Rounding out the outfit are my glasses, a pair that I use often…I just don’t look like me without glasses, and a pistol for that complete Jager Lady look.  The pistol is available for $150L on Xstreet SL and can be purchased for right or left hand, and with a choice of scripted options for different combat sims.

So there you have it…a stylish Jager on the cheap…I paid under $200L for the outfit plus $150 for the pistol.  A little creative shopping and the possibilities in Second Life are endless, even if your budget isn’t.

Leave a comment